Claude payments are split between claude.ai subscriptions (Pro / Max) and API pay-as-you-go. Web subscriptions can only be paid for by credit or debit card; PayPay and convenience store payments aren’t available. PayPay and carrier billing are options only when subscribing through the Claude app on iPhone / Android via the App Store or Google Play, with the available payment methods determined by the store. API billing is separate from subscriptions. Usually, you buy prepaid credits by card in the Claude Console and use them as needed.
This page summarizes where each payment method can and cannot be used in a single table, and explains how to get receipts and invoices (qualified invoices). In the second half, it walks through Kunavo’s steps, through to your first API call, as a way to use the API on a prepaid basis without a subscription and top up with cards including JCB. Plan prices and per-model rates are covered in Claude pricing; this page focuses only on payment methods.
Verified as of September 23, 2026. Sources include billing articles in Anthropic's Help Center and its pricing page, pages for Japan from the App Store, Apple Support, and Google Play Help, the National Tax Agency's public registry of qualified invoice issuers, and Stripe's documentation. Kunavo's payment methods and top-up rules are reproduced directly from the list verified in the actual Stripe account and this site's code.
Claude payments are split into subscriptions and API
claude.ai subscriptions and Claude API are separate products, with separate billing. Paying for Pro or Max does not include API usage; to use the API, you need to buy credits separately in the Console (Anthropic Help Center).
- Subscription (Pro / Max): Use claude.ai chat and Claude Code for a monthly flat fee (Pro is also available with annual billing). You can also buy “usage credits” separately in advance to keep using it after you exceed the usage limit.
- API (pay-as-you-go): Buy prepaid credits in the Claude Console, and usage is deducted from them. This is for integrating Claude into apps or scripts, and for running Claude Code through the API.
Claude Code can be paid for either way: use your Pro / Max allowance or Console credits. See How to use Claude Code for guidance on choosing between them.
Payment methods at a glance — claude.ai, app, Console, and Kunavo
This table covers payments from Japan. ○ means available, △ means conditional, × means unavailable, — means not applicable, and “Not specified” means the official Help Center doesn’t mention it (as of September 23, 2026).
| Payment method | claude.ai (web) | Claude app (App Store / Google Play) | Claude Console (API) | Kunavo (API) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit card | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ |
| Debit card | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ |
| JCB | Not specified | Specified by Google Play; not by App Store | Not specified | ○ |
| Apple Pay | Not specified | ○ (App Store) | Not specified | ○ (Safari on iOS) |
| PayPay | × | △ (store payment method) | × | × |
| Carrier billing | × | △ (store payment method) | × | × |
| Gift card balance | × | △ (store payment method) | × | × |
| Cash payment at convenience stores | × | × (Google Play explicitly says cash can’t be used for subscriptions) | × | × |
| PayPal | × | △ (Google Play only) | × | × |
| Bank transfer | × | — | △ (monthly-billed API accounts only; from US bank accounts) | × |
- claude.ai (web): Subscriptions purchased on the web are explicitly limited to “credit or debit cards only” (Paid plan billing FAQs). Third-party payment services such as PayPal are not accepted (Why was my card declined?).
- Claude app: When you subscribe through the iOS or Android app, the App Store or Google Play processes the payment and determines the available payment methods. Apple Accounts in Japan support PayPay, carrier billing (au, NTT DOCOMO, SoftBank), Merpay, Apple Pay, Apple Account balance (including Apple Gift Cards), and most credit and debit cards (Apple Support). Google Play in Japan supports Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and JCB cards, PayPay, carrier billing, Merpay, Edy, PayPal, and Google Play balance (Google Play Help). Whether a subscription can be paid for with △ methods ultimately depends on the store's terms.
- Claude Console (API): Anthropic accepts credit and debit cards for all purchases. In the Console, bank transfers (from US bank accounts) are available only to API accounts on monthly invoicing (Why was my card declined?). Monthly invoicing is for organizations that have entered into a billing agreement through the sales team (How to pay for Claude API usage).
- JCB: Anthropic’s Help Center doesn’t list accepted card networks, and doesn’t say whether JCB is accepted.
Billing differences
| Item | claude.ai (web) | Claude app | Claude Console (API) | Kunavo (API) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Billing structure | Monthly auto-renewal (annual billing also available for Pro) | Store subscription | Prepaid credits (monthly billing for contracted organizations) | Prepaid balance |
| Displayed currency | Pricing page shows USD, before tax (local currency pricing is available in supported regions) | JPY (as shown in the App Store) | USD | USD (JPY may be shown on the payment screen) |
| Prepaid credit expiration | Usage credits expire 6 months after purchase (in Japan and some other regions, starting September 10, 2026) | — | One year after purchase | None |
| Invoices and receipts | Qualified invoice (email and Settings) | Store receipt | Receipt for each purchase | No invoice or qualified invoice through standard checkout (contact us) |
When you can’t pay for Claude
When you can’t pay for Claude or your card won’t work, Anthropic has not received the specific reason for the decline from the issuing bank. Anthropic’s help article “Why was my card declined?” instead lists the following seven things to check (as of October 10, 2026).
- Billing country or region: The payment method’s billing address and issuing country must be in an Anthropic-supported region, and the billing address must match the issuing country. Japan is included in the list of supported countries and regions, so this check does not apply if you use a Japanese billing address with a card issued in Japan.
- Billing address: Enter the address exactly as it is registered with the card issuer. Even small discrepancies, such as a missing accent mark or a misspelled street name, may cause a decline.
- 3D Secure: If authentication is requested, complete it by entering the one-time password sent to your phone or approving the transaction in your card issuer’s app or website.
- Accepted payment methods: Credit and debit cards are accepted for all purchases. ACH bank transfers are available only for self-service Enterprise plans and API accounts with monthly billing. Third-party payment services such as PayPal and Venmo are not accepted.
- Balance or available credit: You need enough balance or available credit to cover the full purchase amount.
- Try again: If you have another payment method, use it; otherwise, wait a while and try again. Declines caused by temporary technical issues or network problems may resolve on their own.
- Contact the card issuer: Ask the bank or card issuer directly why the payment was declined. Anthropic also says the issuer may be able to provide more detailed information.
If a renewal payment for your current plan fails, your account is downgraded to Free. Check the latest payment status under “Settings”>“Billing,” then replace the card using “Update” next to the payment method. The new card will be charged at the next renewal (paid plan billing FAQ).
If your card still won’t go through, your options depend on what you’re paying for. For a subscription, you can subscribe through the Claude app on iPhone or Android and pay with the method linked to the App Store or Google Play. For the API and Claude Code, follow the steps later in “Use the Claude API with prepaid balance and no subscription” to top up your Kunavo balance with a card, including JCB, Apple Pay, Google Pay, or Link. However, if the card issuer’s settings or other restrictions are blocking the transaction itself, the payment may also fail on Kunavo’s checkout page.
How to pay for a claude.ai subscription
Subscribe on the web (claude.ai)
- Sign in to claude.ai and open Settings from your name (initials) in the lower-left corner.
- Go to Billing and select “Upgrade plan.”
- Select “Get Pro plan” and choose monthly or annual billing.
- Enter your card details and select “Subscribe.”
Subscriptions automatically renew for each billing period (monthly or yearly) until canceled (Sign up for a Pro plan). Prices on the Japanese version of the pricing page are shown in US dollars, excluding tax; Japanese customers are charged 10% consumption tax. Anthropic says it also sets prices in local currencies in supported regions and directs users to claude.ai/upgrade to check current prices for their region (What is the Pro plan?). To cancel, go to “Settings” > “Billing” and select “Cancel.” To avoid the next charge, do this at least 24 hours before the billing date (Cancel your Pro or Max subscription).
Subscribe through the iPhone / Android app
When you subscribe to Pro or Max through the Claude app, the App Store or Google Play processes the payment. This is the only route that offers non-card options such as PayPay, carrier billing, and gift card balance. The Japan App Store page shows prices in yen. As of September 23, 2026, “Claude Pro - Monthly” is ¥3,000, “Claude Pro - Annual” is ¥35,000, “Claude Max 5x - Monthly” is ¥20,000, and “Claude Max 20x - Monthly” is ¥40,000 (App Store).
There are three things to note about subscriptions through the app.
- Anthropic does not issue invoices. Check receipts in your App Store or Google Play account (Invoices for Pro and Max plans).
- Manage payment methods and cancel through the store where you subscribed. To cancel, tap your initials in the top-right corner of the app, then go to “Billing” → “Manage subscription” (Cancel your Pro or Max subscription).
- Usage credits for exceeding your limit can only be enabled and purchased on claude.ai on the web (Manage usage credits).
“Usage credits” for going beyond your limit
To keep working after reaching your Pro or Max usage limit, enable usage credits on the web and add funds to your balance in advance. Usage is charged at standard API rates, separately from your subscription. Usage credits do not expire in most regions, but in countries including Japan, they began expiring six months after purchase on September 10, 2026. The Help Center does not state how credits purchased before that date are treated. You will be notified by email seven days before expiration, and can check the expiration date on the usage page in “Settings” (Manage usage credits). The limits themselves are explained in Claude Pro limits.
How to pay for Claude API — prepaid credits in the Console
Most organizations pay for Claude API in advance. Buy credits in Claude Console first, and usage is deducted from that balance. Credits can be used for the API, Playground, and Claude Code through the Console. Only organizations with a billing agreement through the sales team are billed monthly in arrears (How to pay for Claude API usage).
- Sign in to the Console with an Admin or Billing role.
- Open Settings (Settings) > Billing (Billing) and select “Buy credits.”
- Enter the purchase amount and confirm. Credits are available immediately.
Keep four rules in mind.
- Only successful calls are charged. However, you may still be charged if the client disconnects or times out mid-request when the request would otherwise have succeeded.
- When credits run out, you can’t call the API until you add more. You can also use Auto-reload to buy more automatically when your balance drops below a set amount.
- Credits expire one year after purchase, and the expiration date can’t be extended. Purchased credits are non-refundable.
- You can buy credits only with a credit or debit card (Why was my card declined?).
How to get invoices and receipts (qualified invoices)
Paying Anthropic — registration number T7700150134388
Anthropic is a qualified invoice issuer. From April 1, 2026, it separately charges 10% consumption tax on services provided to customers in Japan. Its registration number is T7700150134388, and the National Tax Agency's publication site lists “Anthropic, PBC” with a registration date of February 17, 2026 (Notice about Japanese Consumption Tax (JCT) for customers in Japan, National Tax Agency Qualified Invoice Issuer Publication Site).
The billing currency remains unchanged, and the consumption tax amount is shown in yen on qualified invoices. Corporations subject to consumption tax can claim an input tax credit using this qualified invoice (they are advised to consult their own tax specialist or accountant for details). For individual use, the user bears the consumption tax.
Note that this notice appears in the claude.ai Help Center (account management) and doesn’t say whether Claude Console receipts meet the requirements for qualified invoices. If you want to claim an input tax credit for API receipts, contact Anthropic Support, which the notice lists for questions about qualified invoices.
- claude.ai (web): A receipt is emailed with each billing charge. Its subject line is “Your receipt from Anthropic.” You can also open it by selecting “View” in the invoices section under “Settings” > “Billing” (Paid plan billing FAQs).
- Claude Console (API): A receipt is issued each time you buy credits and is also sent to the billing email address. With the Admin or Billing role, open Settings > Billing, then choose “Download” or “View” from Invoice history (Claude API invoices).
- Have claude.ai invoices issued in your company name: When adding or updating a payment method under “Settings” > “Billing,” check “Use a different name on the invoice.” The change applies only to future invoices; issued invoices cannot be amended or reissued, so set this up before your first payment (Invoices for Pro and Max plans).
- Subscriptions through the app: Anthropic doesn’t issue invoices; you’ll receive a receipt from the App Store or Google Play.
Paying Kunavo — standard checkout doesn’t issue qualified invoices
Kunavo’s standard checkout doesn’t issue invoices or qualified invoices with a registration number. For a record of a top-up, you can check your card statement (KUNAVO* TOPUP; for automatic top-ups, a description like KUNAVO* AUTOTOPUP), the top-up history (Recent charges) and balance changes (Wallet activity) on the Billing page. If Auto-recharge is enabled, each charge triggers an English receipt email with the amount and order number.
If you need an invoice, contact contact@kunavo.com. If expense reimbursement requires a qualified invoice with a registration number, paying Anthropic directly is the more reliable option.
Use Claude API with prepaid balance and no subscription — Kunavo setup
Kunavo isn’t Anthropic. It’s an independent API gateway that resells access to models such as Claude and GPT. Make calls with one key beginning with sk-kn- and a prepaid balance, with no monthly fee.
Kunavo has three features for prepaid API usage.
- You can top up with JCB. Accepted cards include Visa, Mastercard, American Express, JCB, and UnionPay.
- The balance doesn’t expire. Claude Console credits expire one year after purchase.
- You can also pay with Apple Pay, Google Pay, and Link. Apple Pay and Google Pay charge the card registered on your device or account, while Link uses payment information saved in Stripe, so if you have registered with Link, you can skip entering your card number.
The minimum top-up is $10, and failed requests (4xx / 5xx) aren’t charged. However, PayPay, convenience store payments, and transfers from Japanese bank accounts aren’t supported. As noted in the previous section, standard checkout doesn’t issue qualified invoices.
1. Create an account
On the registration page, select “Continue with Google,” or enter your email address to receive a magic link. You won’t be asked for card details during registration.
2. Top up your balance
Open Billing in the dashboard, choose an amount next to “Add credit,” and select a button such as “Top up $10” to go to Stripe Checkout. The minimum is $10.
You can choose from cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, JCB, and UnionPay), Apple Pay (Safari/iOS), Google Pay (when configured on Chrome/Android), and Link. Debit cards can also be entered as cards.
Prices are in dollars. Stripe may display an amount converted to yen on the checkout page; in that case, the exchange rate includes Stripe's conversion fee (2–4%). If you choose to pay in dollars, this fee does not apply, though your card issuer or bank may charge its own exchange rate and fees (Stripe documentation).
There’s a limit on the amount of your first top-up. If a larger amount is locked, it will become available after your first payment is confirmed.
3. Confirm that your balance has updated
For a card payment, the balance is updated within seconds of payment confirmation. You’re done when Recent charges in Billing shows “Paid.” If the update is delayed, reload the page before paying again. A single payment won’t be counted twice, but if you pay again because you don’t want to wait, that will be added to your balance as a separate top-up.
4. Create an API key
In API Keys, select “New key,” enter a name, and select “Create key.” The key beginning with sk-kn- is shown only once when it’s created, so copy it then.
5. Make your first call
You can use the Anthropic-compatible /v1/messages as is.
# チャージとキー作成が済んだら、最初の呼び出しはこれだけ。
curl https://api.kunavo.com/v1/messages \
-H "x-api-key: $KUNAVO_API_KEY" \
-H "anthropic-version: 2023-06-01" \
-H "content-type: application/json" \
-d '{
"model": "claude-sonnet-5",
"max_tokens": 256,
"messages": [{"role": "user", "content": "チャージできたか 1 行で答えて"}]
}'To run Claude Code with a prepaid balance, configure 6 environment variables.
# Claude Code を前払いの残高で動かす(サブスクは不要)
export ANTHROPIC_BASE_URL=https://api.kunavo.com
export ANTHROPIC_AUTH_TOKEN=sk-kn-...
# Claude Code の既定モデルと opus / sonnet エイリアスは Anthropic の最新モデルを指す。
# sonnet は Kunavo が提供していない Sonnet 5.5 を呼んで 404 になるので、モデルを固定する。
# opus の固定先 Opus 5.5 は Claude Code v2.1.280 以降が必要(古ければ claude update)。
export ANTHROPIC_MODEL=claude-sonnet-5
export ANTHROPIC_DEFAULT_OPUS_MODEL=claude-opus-5-5
export ANTHROPIC_DEFAULT_SONNET_MODEL=claude-sonnet-5
export ANTHROPIC_DEFAULT_HAIKU_MODEL=claude-haiku-4-5Remove the variables and open a new terminal to switch Claude Code back to your original subscription. Setup details are in the ANTHROPIC_BASE_URL documentation (in English), and cost estimates are in Claude Code pricing.
As a guide, one exchange with 2,000 input / 700 output tokens costs about $0.0077 on Claude Sonnet 5, and about $0.0039 on Claude Haiku 4.5. The $10 minimum gives you about 1,300 exchanges on Claude Sonnet 5.
Common payment issues and how to resolve them
Anthropic (claude.ai and Console)
| Issue | Main cause | Resolution |
|---|---|---|
| Card declined | Billing address doesn’t match the one on file with the card issuer, 3D Secure authentication wasn’t completed, or insufficient balance or credit limit | Make sure the address matches and complete authentication. Try another card or contact the issuer (Help) |
| Paid but still on Free | Signed in with a different email address, or payment failed and the plan was downgraded | Sign in again with the address used for the subscription and check the payment status under “Settings” > “Billing” (Help) |
| Pro paid for, but API isn’t available | Subscription and API are separate products | Buy credits in the Console (Help) |
API returns 402 billing_error | There’s a problem with the payment information | Check payment details under Billing in the Console (List of errors) |
| Can’t buy usage credits after subscribing through the app | Usage credits can only be enabled on the web version | Enable it in claude.ai in your browser (Help) |
Kunavo
| Issue | Main cause | Resolution |
|---|---|---|
| Larger top-up amounts are locked | First top-up limit | They become available once the first payment is confirmed |
| “Too many payment attempts” appears | Tried to pay too many times in a short period | New top-ups are paused for a few hours. If you made the attempts, reply to the email from Kunavo and ask for the pause to be lifted |
API returns 402 | Insufficient balance, or the key has reached its monthly usage limit | Top up under Billing. If the key has reached its limit, review it under API Keys (see the billing documentation, in English). |
| Paid but balance hasn’t increased | Update pending (usually a few seconds) | Reload the page to check; don’t pay twice |
Which payment method to choose
- Mostly use chat and have a card → Subscribe on the claude.ai website. You’ll also receive a qualified invoice by email.
- Want to pay with PayPay, carrier billing, or a gift card → Subscribe through the app via the App Store / Google Play. You’ll receive a store receipt.
- Using the API for a company and need Anthropic receipts → Use prepaid credits in the Claude Console. You’ll get a receipt for each purchase. Ask Anthropic Support whether it can be used to claim an input tax credit. Credits expire after one year, so buy only what you need.
- Want to use the API without a subscription, pay with JCB, and avoid balance expiration → Use Kunavo. Its standard checkout doesn’t issue qualified invoices, so check in advance if you need specific documents for expense reimbursement.
For billing details, see the billing documentation (in English); for business information required in Japan, see Information under the Act on Specified Commercial Transactions.
Frequently asked questions
What payment methods does Claude accept?
Claude payments fall into two separate categories: claude.ai subscriptions (Pro / Max) and API pay-as-you-go, each billed separately. Subscriptions purchased on the claude.ai website are paid by credit or debit card. If you subscribe through the Claude app on iPhone / Android, payment is made using the method registered with the App Store or Google Play. For the API, you usually buy prepaid credits by card in the Claude Console (organizations with billing agreements through the sales team pay monthly in arrears). This information is based on Anthropic’s Help Center as of September 23, 2026.
Can I pay for Claude with PayPay?
Not on the claude.ai website. Subscriptions purchased on the web are limited to credit or debit cards. PayPay is an option only when subscribing through the Claude app on iPhone / Android via the App Store or Google Play. Both the Japanese Apple Account and Google Play list PayPay as a payment method (as of September 23, 2026). Claude Console API credits and Kunavo top-ups don’t support PayPay.
Can I use a debit card?
Yes. Anthropic accepts credit and debit cards for all purchases, including claude.ai subscriptions and the Claude Console. You can also enter a debit card as a card when topping up on Kunavo. If a payment to Anthropic fails, check that the billing address matches the one registered with your card issuer and that you completed 3D Secure authentication.
Can I use a JCB card?
Anthropic’s Help Center doesn’t specify the card networks it accepts, so official information doesn’t confirm whether JCB is supported (as of September 23, 2026). Google Play (Japan) lists JCB among its accepted cards, so it may be an option for subscriptions through the Android app (though it also says that available card types may vary). If you want to pay for the API with JCB, Kunavo accepts cards from Visa, Mastercard, American Express, JCB, and UnionPay and lets you top up your API balance with JCB.
Can I use a prepaid card?
For Pro / Max subscriptions purchased on the web, Anthropic’s Help Center lists credit and debit cards as accepted payment methods but doesn’t mention prepaid cards. The Team plan FAQ says it accepts credit, debit, and prepaid cards. We haven’t confirmed whether prepaid cards work on Kunavo, so we don’t list them as supported. If one doesn’t work, use a credit or debit card.
Are receipts and invoices available?
If you pay Anthropic directly, they’re available. claude.ai invoices are sent by email (subject: “Your receipt from Anthropic”) and are available under Settings > Billing. Claude Console receipts are issued for each purchase and can be accessed from Invoice history under Settings > Billing. Anthropic is a qualified invoice issuer (registration number T7700150134388). A 10% consumption tax applies to invoices from April 1, 2026, and the consumption tax amount is shown in yen on qualified invoices. However, this information appears in the claude.ai Help Center, with no specific statement about Console receipts. Subscriptions through the App Store or Google Play use the store’s receipts. Kunavo’s standard checkout doesn’t issue qualified invoices with a registration number. If you need an invoice, contact contact@kunavo.com.
If I pay for Claude Pro, can I also use the API?
No. The claude.ai subscription and Claude API are separate products, and Pro or Max fees don’t include API usage. To use the API, buy credits separately in the Claude Console or use the balance on an API gateway such as Kunavo. Claude Code is the exception: it can run on either Pro / Max usage or API credits.
Can I pay for the Claude API by credit card?
You can. In Claude Console, go to Settings > Billing and purchase prepaid credits by card. Console credits expire 1 year after the purchase date and are non-refundable. In Kunavo, you can top up from $10 using Visa, Mastercard, American Express, JCB, and UnionPay cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and Link, and the balance does not expire.
Is Claude subject to consumption tax?
For customers in Japan who pay Anthropic directly, a separate 10% consumption tax applies starting April 1, 2026. Prices on the Japanese pricing page are shown before tax, and the consumption tax amount is listed in yen on qualified invoices. Corporate entities subject to consumption tax can claim an input tax credit using Anthropic’s qualified invoice (for details, Anthropic advises consulting your own tax specialist or accountant); individuals are responsible for the consumption tax.
Can I pay at a convenience store or by bank transfer?
The claude.ai website, Claude Console, and Kunavo don’t accept convenience store payments. For subscriptions through the app, you may be able to pay using your Apple Account or Google Play balance (such as a gift card). However, Google Play explicitly says cash can’t be used to pay for subscriptions. Bank transfers aren’t available for Pro / Max. Anthropic accepts bank transfers (from US bank accounts) only for self-serve Enterprise plans and monthly-billed API accounts. Kunavo also doesn’t accept transfers from Japanese bank accounts.
Do Claude credits or balances expire?
Claude Console API credits expire one year after purchase, and the expiration date can’t be extended. “Usage credits” for paid claude.ai plans don’t expire in most regions, but in some regions, including Japan, a policy under which they expire 6 months after purchase took effect on September 10, 2026. The Help Center doesn’t say what happens to credits purchased before that date. You’ll get an email notification 7 days before expiration, and you can check the expiration date on the Usage page in Settings. Kunavo balances don’t expire.