The best SillyTavern alternative depends on which half of SillyTavern you are actually replacing: the interface, or the model supply. RisuAI is the closest like-for-like swap and the only actively-developed open-source client here that ships its own Android build. TavernAI 2 is the most aggressive migration path but is a closed-source binary with no published licence. Janitor AI, Chub AI, Character.AI and Backyard AI replace the model supply too, and the last two remove the bring-your-own-key field entirely.
SillyTavern itself is not going anywhere: the repository is AGPL-3.0, not archived, at 33,523 stars and 6,316 forks, and release 1.19.0 was published on September 14, 2026 (GitHub API, checked September 19, 2026). It has no API and no hosted service, so "alternatives" means one of two different products: a different bring-your-own-key front end, or a platform that sells you inference as well as an interface.
Start with why you are leaving
| Your reason for leaving | What to look at | What it costs you |
|---|---|---|
| Installation and Node servers are too much work | TavernAI 2 (portable binary) or a hosted platform | TavernAI 2 publishes no licence; hosted platforms drop the custom-endpoint field |
| You want it on a phone | RisuAI, or any hosted platform | RisuAI keeps BYOK; hosted platforms mostly do not |
| You do not want to manage an API key at all | Janitor AI, Chub AI, Character.AI, Backyard AI | A subscription, and the platform's model line-up rather than yours |
| The API bill is the problem | KoboldCpp + KoboldAI Lite locally, or AI Horde | Hardware and electricity, or a shared volunteer queue |
| You want finer control of the request than the UI exposes | RisuAI custom models, or Agnai's third-party adapter | More manual configuration, not less |
| You want a general assistant, not roleplay | LibreChat, Open WebUI, LobeHub | All three are general assistant UIs rather than roleplay clients; check each for card and lorebook support before you assume it |
The phone row is the one worth spelling out, because SillyTavern ships no mobile app. Its own Android (Termux) install page routes you through Termux: install Termux from F-Droid rather than the Play Store, run termux-change-repo and pick a mirror group, pkg install git nodejs-lts, clone the release branch and run start.sh — a Node server on the handset. The same page notes Termux installs are not officially supported by the SillyTavern team.
What each alternative actually is, as of today
Repository facts below were read from the GitHub API on September 19, 2026. Two of these rows contradict what the roundups say, and both matter before you commit.
| Project | Licence | Platforms | Latest release | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RisuAI (kwaroran/Risuai) | GPL-3.0 | Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, Web | v2026.8.250, August 25, 2026 | Active; pushed September 18, 2026; 1,688 stars |
| TavernAI 2 | None published; API reports null | Windows and Linux portable binaries; no macOS build | v2.5.0, September 19, 2026 | Active; repo created June 16, 2026; no source directory |
| Agnai | AGPL-3.0 | Hosted at agnai.chat; self-host via npm or Docker | Repo pushed June 15, 2026 | Not archived, but no commit since June 13, 2026 |
| KoboldCpp + KoboldAI Lite | AGPL-3.0 | Self-contained binary; Lite also hosted free | koboldcpp-1.121, September 15, 2026 | Active; pushed September 18, 2026 |
| Chub AI (Venus) | Proprietary hosted | Web | — | Active; its Mars and Mercury APIs "can be used in the same way as an OpenAI reverse proxy" |
| Janitor AI | Proprietary hosted | Web | — | Active; added a subscription and an in-app model router in 2026 |
| Character.AI | Proprietary hosted | Web and mobile apps | — | Active; proprietary models, no key field |
| Backyard AI | Proprietary hosted | Web, iOS, Android | — | Formerly Faraday.dev; its desktop app is deprecated |
TavernAI is not the open-source option any more. SillyTavern was forked from a 2023 project of that name, but the repository at that path today was created on June 16, 2026 and its full contents are .github, .gitignore, CHANGELOG.md, CONTRIBUTING.md, README.md, SECURITY.md, assets, docs-site and locales — no source, no LICENSE, and the API reports licence null. The downloads are free to fetch, but neither the site nor the README states a price or licence terms, so treat the cost as unstated rather than as free software. What became of the original 2023 repository is something this page could not establish.
Backyard AI is not a local app. Faraday.dev announced on May 13, 2024 that it would transition all products and services to Backyard AI on May 20, 2024, and the thing it was known for is gone: desktop.backyard.ai states the desktop app is deprecated and no longer supported and points users to the hosted service. If you were considering it as a local-inference replacement, that product no longer exists.
Agnai needs a date, not an adjective. There is no archive notice and no deprecation statement, but the newest commit on the dev branch is dated June 13, 2026 and the repository has not been pushed since June 15, 2026 — roughly three months of silence when checked. That is cadence evidence; draw your own conclusion rather than accepting "abandoned" or "actively maintained" from anyone, this page included.
The bring-your-own-key field is not the same field twice
This is the part that breaks migrations in the first ten minutes. Every one of these apps has a box you paste a URL into, and they do not want the same string.
| App | Where the field is | What the URL must be | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| SillyTavern | API → Chat Completion → Custom (OpenAI-compatible) | A base URL. "Do NOT add the /chat/completions suffix"; add /v1 if the connection fails | SillyTavern docs |
| RisuAI — Custom Models | Settings → Advanced → Custom Models | The full /v1/chat/completions path; the string is used verbatim | RisuAI source |
| RisuAI — Reverse Proxy | A separate setting with an "Autofill Request URL" toggle | The toggle appends /chat/completions or /v1/chat/completions for you | Same source file |
| Janitor AI | ☰ → API Settings → Proxy → + Add Configuration | The guide's only worked example is a complete endpoint ending in /chat/completions; it states no general rule | Janitor guide |
| Chub AI | A fixed provider list; no generic custom-endpoint field is documented | The OpenAI and Anthropic entries each accept "either an API Key or the use of a reverse proxy", and Chub advises against proxies; a separate Kobold/Ooba entry connects to self- or community-hosted models | Chub docs |
| TavernAI 2 | AI Provider Connection: Base Provider, Model Endpoint, API key | Undocumented — base or full path is not stated anywhere published | Locale file |
| Agnai | A dedicated third-party adapter with an explicit format | Formats include openai, openai-chat, openai-chatv2 and claude; chosen, not detected | Agnai source |
| Character.AI, Backyard AI | No such field in any tier | Switching model provider is not a setting — it is leaving | character.ai/plus, backyard.ai/plans |
Two RisuAI details are worth knowing before you blame the endpoint. Its Format dropdown is an explicit enum — OpenAICompatible, Anthropic and OpenAIResponseAPI among others — so picking the wrong one produces a protocol mismatch rather than a helpful error. And a custom model's capabilities are not discovered: vision, prefill, streaming and prompt caching are hand-ticked flags, so they silently do nothing until you set them. It is also worth knowing where the "Autofill Request URL" rewrite does and does not apply: in the request builder the append is guarded by aiModel === 'reverse_proxy' && db.autofillRequestUrl, so a Custom Models entry never reaches it and its URL is passed through untouched. None of this was runtime-tested here; it is read from the main branch of kwaroran/Risuai on September 19, 2026.
Subscriptions versus your own token bill
Prices below were read from each vendor's own page on September 19, 2026. Where a figure is not published on a page this check could read, the cell says so rather than borrowing a number from a review blog.
| Plan | Published price | What it buys |
|---|---|---|
| Janitor AI — free | $0 | The launch post states the existing product "stays completely free"; message caps not published in a readable source |
| Janitor AI — janitor+ | $12.99 / month | Launched June 24, 2026: 5x context, priority messages, frontier-model swipes, a badge |
| Janitor AI — janitor+ Router | "billed per token at the prices shown"; the rates themselves are shown in-app, not in the announcement | In-app model marketplace; janitor+ subscribers only and web-only at launch, with $5 of launch credit and 10% off some popular models |
| Chub AI — Mars | $20 a month | Chub's own docs: unlimited messaging plus "total integration into the Chub ecosystem" |
| Chub AI — Mercury | Not verified | Chub's inference-API doc names Mars and Mercury together as its APIs; no price for Mercury on any official page this check could load |
| Character.AI — c.ai+ | $94.99 per year (against a struck-through $119.88) | No ads, best memory, unlimited top models. The monthly figure is not in the served page |
| Character.AI — "lite" | Not published on the page | A middle column in the comparison table; fewer ads than free, no price element |
| Backyard AI — free | $0 | 300 messages per week, 1 included model, 16k context |
| Backyard AI — Standard | $12 / month | Unlimited messages on six Standard models, 16,384-token context |
| Backyard AI — Pro | $35 / month | Twelve models including Command R+ 104B, Llama 3.3 70B variants, Midnight Rose 70B, Magnum 72B; context up to 100,000 tokens |
| AI Horde | $0 | "Volunteers share their computers so anyone can make images and text here, for free"; paid for by public donations and by NLnet / NGI0 Core |
Note what a $35 roleplay subscription actually reaches in late 2026: a line-up of open-weight models, several of them years old. That is the trade, and it is the reason the bring-your-own-key route survives. Three widely-quoted numbers are deliberately missing above — Chub's Mercury price and its supposed four-month billing blocks, and Janitor's free message cap — because they appear only on affiliate blogs and contradict or exceed what the vendors publish. Confirm any of them in that platform's own checkout.
What the same money buys as tokens
This is illustrative token arithmetic, not a measured cost and not a bill ceiling. Assume one generation sends a 12,000-token prompt — character card, system prompt and as much history as the context holds, all re-sent every turn — and receives a 250-token reply, with no re-rolls and no prompt caching. Rates are live Kunavo catalog prices per million tokens. The last column divides the cheapest subscription verified here, janitor+ at $12.99, by the estimated cost of one turn.
| Model | Input / output per 1M | Estimate per turn | Turns for the price of a $12.99 subscription |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-5.6 Luna | $0.07 / $0.42 | $0.00095 | 13,746 |
| Claude Haiku 4.5 | $0.40 / $2.00 | $0.00530 | 2,451 |
| Gemini 3.8 Flash | $0.525 / $2.625 | $0.00696 | 1,867 |
| Claude Sonnet 5 | $2.00 / $10.00 | $0.02650 | 490 |
| Claude Fable 5.1 | $7.00 / $35.00 | $0.09275 | 140 |
The spread is the point, not any single row: the same assumed turn costs about 98 times more on Claude Fable 5.1 than on GPT-5.6 Luna, so "is BYOK cheaper than a subscription" has no answer until you name the model. This is also not an equivalence: a subscription buys platform features, hosted character hubs and a fixed monthly number, and metered tokens buy none of those. Scale the arithmetic by your own turns per day before treating it as a budget, and note that context size drives it far harder than the headline per-million rate — double the history and you roughly double the input side.
Kunavo's catalog amount is a billing floor rather than a cap: when the upstream reports its charge, the bill is the greater of catalog cost and upstream cost multiplied by the applicable markup. Cache charges and external tools sit outside this example. There is no free tier and the minimum top-up is $10 in prepaid credit, which is a funding minimum, not a task fee or a subscription — see billing details. If a long chat is what you are budgeting for, prompt caching changes the input side more than any model swap does.
What migrates, and what you will rebuild
Cards travel because the format is shared. Character Card V2 was marked "Spec approved" on May 17, 2023, and names agnai, SillyTavern and RisuAI as the V1-compatible frontends — plus the ZoltanAI card editor — that it was aimed at; it does not certify that any of them implement it. Character Card V3 describes its card object as a superset of the V2 object "except the fields that are changed or removed", and adds a ccv3 PNG text chunk and a .charx zip archive. Everything wrapped around the card is where the work is.
| What you have | Moves cleanly? | How |
|---|---|---|
| Character cards | Usually | SillyTavern's Character Management panel has Export character, plus Import from file and Import from URL on the receiving side |
| Chat history | Only with a dedicated importer | TavernAI 2's Mass Import links chats to imported cards when a matching card is found |
| Lorebooks / world info | Sometimes | Mass Import brings them in as prompt resources; other apps may need manual re-entry |
| Group chats | Only with a dedicated importer | Mass Import carries the participant list and chat history |
| Prompt presets | Best-effort | Mass Import handles a preset file it can detect as compatible; regex-style replacements are mapped to Prompt Manager resources |
| RisuAI-specific assets | No | RisuAI's own strings describe the RCC "Risu Refined Character Card", Risupreset and RisuM as formats designed for RisuAI presets and modules, and say of character JavaScript: "EXPORTING WOULD NOT INCLUDE THIS" |
| Your API configuration | No | Re-enter it, and re-read the URL rules in the table above — the string differs per app |
The practical route into TavernAI 2 is its Mass Import, which you point at a SillyTavern root folder or a single SillyTavern user folder. That works because SillyTavern stores everything on disk: its administration docs describe a per-user folder at data/[user-handle] holding character files, conversation history and settings. Its own documentation also notes that only the default data layout is described there, so a relocated data root needs checking before you point anything at it.
Back up before you import, and keep the old install. Copy the whole data/ directory somewhere outside the SillyTavern folder first. An importer reads that folder, and a bad run is far cheaper to recover from a copy than from a card-by-card re-export. Do not uninstall SillyTavern until you have run a week of real chats in the new app — rollback is then just launching the old one, because its data never moved. That is also the honest reason to move cards by export rather than by deleting anything: a PNG you exported still opens in both.
Content rules and model availability come before price
Two things get conflated in every roundup. Platform policy varies: Backyard AI advertises fictional text and voice chats with no filters, and Chub AI's documentation describes its Mars models as uncensored, while Character.AI barred users under 18 from creating or talking to chatbots starting November 25, 2025, and Janitor AI announced on June 15, 2026 that users in Brazil, Australia and the UK will need to verify their age, calling it a legal requirement and naming Australia's Age-Restricted Material Codes under the Online Safety Act 2021 (in force March 9, 2026) and Brazil's Lei No. 15.211/2025 (in force March 17, 2026); the methods offered are facial age estimation, an ID scan or a k-ID AgeKey, and the post says there is no specific date yet. Do not read any of this as a uniform property of the category.
Model policy is separate and follows the model, not the app. Anthropic's Usage Policy, effective September 15, 2025, prohibits generating sexually explicit content and lists "Engage in erotic chats" explicitly. Putting a gateway URL in a different app's box does not change that. For unrestricted adult roleplay the honest answers are local inference, open-weight hosts, or a platform selling its own models — not a frontier key behind a new base URL. OpenAI's current adult-content wording could not be read for this page, so it is not characterised here.
Picking one, and wiring it up
If the interface is the problem, try RisuAI first and keep SillyTavern installed. If installation is the problem and you accept an unlicensed binary, TavernAI 2 has the only importer that reads your SillyTavern folder wholesale. If the bill is the problem, KoboldCpp with KoboldAI Lite or AI Horde takes it to zero. If you want to stop thinking about keys, a hosted platform is the answer and the custom endpoint stops being relevant. And if what you actually want is a general assistant, LibreChat and Open WebUI are the comparison — note that LibreChat is MIT while Open WebUI's licence forbids removing its branding above fifty end users in a rolling thirty days, and that LobeChat now ships as LobeHub.
For any of the bring-your-own-key routes, Kunavo is one OpenAI-compatible endpoint and one prepaid balance behind whichever front end you land on. These clients have not been runtime-tested against Kunavo's endpoint; a published setup guide is a configuration reference, not a compatibility test. Start from the SillyTavern setup for the base-URL form or the Janitor AI setup for the full-path form, then create a Kunavo account when you are ready to fund a key. Best API for SillyTavern covers model choice and cost per turn in depth if you are keeping the client and only changing the supply, and the OpenAI-compatible API reference explains what the endpoint expects.
FAQ
What is the best SillyTavern alternative?
There is no single winner, because people leave SillyTavern for two unrelated reasons. If you want the same bring-your-own-key control with less setup and a real mobile build, RisuAI is the closest match — GPL-3.0, its site lists Windows, macOS, Linux, Android and Web, and its Custom Models slot accepts an OpenAI-compatible, Anthropic or OpenAI Responses endpoint. If you want to stop managing an API key at all, Janitor AI and Chub AI are hosted platforms that sell inference, and Character.AI and Backyard AI are closed gardens with no key field in any tier. If you want the running cost to be zero, KoboldCpp with the bundled KoboldAI Lite runs a local model, and AI Horde is a free volunteer-powered service. Pick the row that matches your reason for leaving, not the one at the top of a listicle.
Is there a SillyTavern alternative that works on a phone?
Yes, and this is the most common reason to switch. SillyTavern has no mobile app: its own documentation routes Android users through Termux, which means installing a package manager, running termux-change-repo, installing git and nodejs-lts, cloning the release branch and keeping a Node server running on the handset. RisuAI publishes Android and macOS builds alongside Windows, Linux and a web build, so it is the direct answer for phone use. The hosted platforms — Janitor AI, Chub AI, Character.AI, Backyard AI — are websites or app-store apps and need no server at all, at the cost of losing the custom-endpoint field in most of them.
Can I move my character cards to another app?
Usually yes, because the card format is shared rather than proprietary. Character Card V2 was marked approved on May 17, 2023 and names agnai, SillyTavern and RisuAI as the V1-compatible frontends it was aimed at, along with the ZoltanAI card editor; Character Card V3 adds a ccv3 PNG text chunk and a CHARX zip archive, and describes its card object as a superset of the V2 object except the fields it changes or removes. So exporting a PNG card from SillyTavern's Character Management panel and importing it elsewhere generally carries the persona, greeting and example dialogue. What does not travel reliably is everything around the card: chat history, lorebook entries as that app stores them, regex and prompt presets, and app-specific extras. RisuAI's own formats — the RCC refined card, risupreset and RisuM module — are documented as RisuAI-specific, and RisuAI states that character JavaScript is not included on export.
Do any SillyTavern alternatives let me use my own API key?
Several do, but the field behaves differently in each and that difference breaks more migrations than anything else. SillyTavern's Custom (OpenAI-compatible) source takes a base URL and its documentation says explicitly not to append the /chat/completions suffix, suggesting you add /v1 if the connection fails. RisuAI's Custom Models entry uses the URL string verbatim in its request builder, so it needs the complete /v1/chat/completions path. Janitor AI's own beginner guide walks through one proxy example whose Proxy URL is a complete endpoint ending in /chat/completions, and tells you to copy it exactly; it does not state a general rule for other providers. Chub AI documents a fixed provider list with no generic custom-endpoint field — its OpenAI and Anthropic entries each accept an API key or a reverse proxy, and Chub's documentation argues against reverse proxies. Character.AI and Backyard AI have no key field at any tier.
Is TavernAI the open-source alternative to SillyTavern?
Not any more, and this is the biggest trap in the category. SillyTavern was forked from a 2023 open-source project called TavernAI, but the repository at github.com/TavernAI/TavernAI today was created on June 16, 2026 and holds a product called TavernAI 2. Its entire contents are .github, .gitignore, CHANGELOG.md, CONTRIBUTING.md, README.md, SECURITY.md, assets, docs-site and locales — there is no source directory and no LICENSE file, and the GitHub API reports its licence as null. It ships portable Windows and Linux binaries with no macOS build, and neither the site nor the docs state a price or licence terms. It is actively developed and it ships an official importer that reads a SillyTavern folder, so it is a serious option; it is simply not the open-source project the older roundups are describing.
Is there a free SillyTavern alternative?
Free as in software, yes: RisuAI is GPL-3.0, Agnai is AGPL-3.0 and its README makes MongoDB optional — without one it runs in anonymous-only mode, so there is no persistence — and KoboldCpp is AGPL-3.0. Free as in no bill is a different question, because the model still has to run somewhere. The two genuinely zero-cost routes are local inference, where KoboldCpp bundles KoboldAI Lite and you pay in hardware and electricity instead of tokens, and AI Horde, a donation-funded volunteer service that TavernAI 2 and KoboldAI Lite both support directly. Every other route has a bill: either a platform subscription, or per-token API charges, which on Kunavo means prepaid credit with a $10 minimum top-up and no free tier.
Does switching apps get around content restrictions?
No, and it is worth being precise about why. Switching the front end does not change the policy the model is served under. Anthropic's Usage Policy, effective September 15, 2025, prohibits generating sexually explicit content and names erotic chats specifically, and that applies through any gateway pointed at those models. What varies is the platform, not the wrapper: Backyard AI advertises fictional text and voice chats with no filters, and Chub AI's documentation describes its Mars models as uncensored, while Character.AI barred under-18 users from open-ended chatbot conversations starting November 25, 2025 and Janitor AI has announced mandatory age verification for Brazil, Australia and the UK, with no shipping date confirmed. For unrestricted adult roleplay the honest routes are local inference, open-weight hosts, or a platform that sells its own models.
Repository facts, licences, release tags and commit dates were re-read from the GitHub API on September 19, 2026, and the Backyard AI, Character.AI, Chub AI, Janitor AI, SillyTavern and Anthropic pages linked above were fetched the same day. RisuAI, Agnai and TavernAI 2 behaviour is read from published source, locale files and documentation — nothing on this page was runtime-tested, and no client was connected to Kunavo's endpoint for this write-up. Kunavo token rates come from the live catalog; every dollar example here is illustrative token arithmetic.