Back to guides
Setup·September 21, 2026·8 min read

OpenClaw with MiniMax: provider setup and task costs

MiniMax ships inside OpenClaw as a first-party plugin, so the real work is choosing the key, the region and the right price tier.

Last reviewed on .

MiniMax is a bundled first-party plugin in OpenClaw, not a custom endpoint: one command, openclaw onboard --auth-choice minimax-global-api, writes the whole provider block for you. The plugin registers two provider ids with different capabilities and two credentials MiniMax says are not interchangeable, and OpenClaw's own example cost block for MiniMax-M3 carries the higher of MiniMax's two price tiers — which is the one number worth fixing before you run anything. Everything below is source-document review dated September 21, 2026; nothing here was installed, onboarded or called.

Three name traps first, because the search results mix them. The German fire-protection company Minimax at minimax.com sells fire detection and extinguishing systems, not tokens. The minimax algorithm is the game-theory rule the AI company is named after. And OpenClaw itself was renamed twice in January 2026 — Clawdbot to Moltbot on January 27 after Anthropic raised a trademark concern, then Moltbot to OpenClaw on January 30, per CNBC's account — so pages published under the old names are not current documentation. The project is MIT-licensed with no paid tier, per its repository README.

Two MiniMax surfaces, and only one of them is the chat model

The plugin registers minimax (API key) and minimax-portal (OAuth), and their capability lists differ by exactly one entry. That single difference is the most expensive thing on this page to discover late.

Provider idAuthCapabilities OpenClaw lists
minimaxAPI keyText, image generation, music generation, video generation, image understanding, speech, web search
minimax-portalOAuthText, image generation, music generation, video generation, image understanding, speech

From OpenClaw's MiniMax provider page, read September 21, 2026. Whether the OAuth route genuinely cannot search or the table is merely incomplete is not stated on that page.

Two further boundaries decide whether the tool half of the plugin works at all. OpenClaw's MiniMax web-search tool posts to the subscription endpoint /v1/coding_plan/search, prefers MINIMAX_CODE_PLAN_KEY, and warns that ordinary model API keys may not be accepted — so a pay-as-you-go buyer cannot assume search works because chat does. And image generation always calls MiniMax's dedicated /v1/image_generation endpoint from MINIMAX_API_HOST, ignoring models.providers.minimax.baseUrl entirely. Pointing the chat base URL at anything else does not move image traffic with it.

Choose the account and the key before you touch the config

MiniMax sells two credentials. A pay-as-you-go API key meters per token. A Subscription Key carries Token Plan or Credits access and drives the OAuth route; MiniMax's own OpenClaw setup guide says a Token Plan API Key starts with sk-cp, and has you set it as MINIMAX_API_KEY — so the subscription credential is not confined to the OAuth path. MiniMax's Token Plan overview states plainly that "The Subscription Key is not interchangeable with pay-as-you-go API Keys." Regions are a second split: the international platform pairs platform.minimax.io with api.minimax.io, China pairs platform.minimax.cn with api.minimaxi.com, and MiniMax says a 401 straight after OAuth login usually means the region did not auto-match.

Token Plan tierPublished monthly priceHow MiniMax describes it
Plus$22 / monthPersonal projects and prototyping, 3-4 agents
Max$55 / monthDaily coding with agents and multimodal work, 4-5 agents
Ultra$132 / monthHeavy Agent workflows and extended sessions, 6-7 agents

From MiniMax's Token Plan pricing page, read September 21, 2026. All three tiers share 5-hour rolling and weekly quota windows, and MiniMax publishes no token or request count per tier — any sentence converting a tier into tokens per month would be invented. No annual price and no "two months free" wording appears on that page. The live checkout page is client-rendered and returned nothing readable here, so treat checkout as the controlling price and confirm before you subscribe. Coverage is stated as "the full MiniMax lineup (M3 / M2.7 / image / speech)" with an exclusion list — "MiniMax H3, voice design, rapid voice cloning, etc. are not currently supported" — which matters because the plugin can call video and voice features that sit in neither list. Credits sell at 1,000 credits = $1, valid 365 days from each purchase date, and MiniMax's Token Plan overview adds that purchased Credits can automatically cover usage inside Token Plan coverage and that "Unused subscription quota does not carry over to the next billing cycle." One disclosure: OpenClaw's docs carry a referral link advertising 10% off the subscription. That is a referral discount, not a MiniMax list price.

OpenClaw's four documented MiniMax auth choices
# International, pay-as-you-go API key  -> provider id "minimax"
openclaw onboard --auth-choice minimax-global-api
# International, Token Plan over OAuth     -> provider id "minimax-portal"
openclaw onboard --auth-choice minimax-global-oauth
# China endpoints (api.minimaxi.com)
openclaw onboard --auth-choice minimax-cn-api
openclaw onboard --auth-choice minimax-cn-oauth

# Then confirm the catalog actually loaded
openclaw models list --provider minimax
openclaw models list --provider minimax-portal

The one number in the config worth fixing

The global API-key choice writes baseUrl as https://api.minimax.io/anthropic with api: "anthropic-messages" (the China choices use api.minimaxi.com); https://api.minimax.io/v1 with openai-completions is offered as optional. What they also write is a cost block, and OpenClaw's documented example for MiniMax-M3 is { input: 0.6, output: 2.4, cacheRead: 0.12, cacheWrite: 0 }. Those are MiniMax's rates above 512k input tokens.

MiniMax-M3, per 1M tokensInputOutputPrompt-cache read
MiniMax list, at or below 512k input tokens$0.30$1.20$0.06
MiniMax list, above 512k input tokens$0.60$2.40$0.12
OpenClaw's example cost block0.62.40.12

MiniMax's pay-as-you-go list and OpenClaw's provider page, both read September 21, 2026. The tier boundary is stated as input token length, not total context, and the lower tier is badged "Permanent 50% off". Leave the example as shipped and OpenClaw reports roughly double the real rate on every request under the boundary — which is not a defect so much as a tier the example happened to pick, and OpenClaw tells you to fix it: "Update pricing values in models.json if you need exact cost tracking."

models.json — MiniMax-M3 at the at-or-below-512k tier
{
  "input": 0.30,
  "output": 1.20,
  "cacheRead": 0.06
}

Note what is absent. MiniMax publishes no prompt-cache write rate for M3, so this block leaves cacheWrite out rather than asserting zero. These values are MiniMax's published rates placed into OpenClaw's documented field names; the combination was not run here. One more behavioural gate to expect on the anthropic-messages path: OpenClaw disables M2.x thinking by default, because M2.x emits reasoning_content in OpenAI-style delta chunks that would leak into visible output, while M3 defaults to adaptive thinking — its two documented levels are off and adaptive — because it returns empty content with thinking disabled.

What a task costs, and what a scheduled one costs

These are arithmetic on published rates, not measured task costs and not a bill ceiling. Assume a task that bills 1,000,000 input tokens and 100,000 output tokens.

MiniMax model, per 1M tokensInputOutputCache readCache write
MiniMax-M3 (at or below 512k input)$0.30$1.20$0.06not published
MiniMax-M3 (above 512k input)$0.60$2.40$0.12not published
MiniMax-M2.7$0.3$1.2$0.06$0.375
MiniMax-M2.7-highspeed$0.6$2.4$0.06$0.375

MiniMax pay-as-you-go list, USD, read September 21, 2026. On MiniMax-M2.7 that assumed task costs $0.42 uncached ($0.30 + $0.12). Serve 90% of the input from prompt cache and the same shape costs $0.204 ($0.03 + $0.054 + $0.12). The $22 Plus tier is therefore worth about 52 uncached or 107 well-cached tasks of that shape at list price — a rate comparison, not a claim that the plan delivers that many tasks, because it meters by 5-hour and weekly windows whose token counts MiniMax does not publish. Two caveats on that table: M2.7-highspeed lists double the input and output of M2.7 but the same $0.06 cache read, read once and not cross-checked; and cache mechanics — TTL, minimum cacheable prefix, whether caching is automatic at all — are not published there, so the cached figures are rate arithmetic rather than a prediction (prompt caching covers the concept). MiniMax also lists a priority tier for M3 at 1.5× the standard rate ($0.45 / $1.80 / $0.09 at or below 512k input). How OpenClaw would select it is not documented on MiniMax's price list or OpenClaw's provider page — OpenClaw's note about dropping service_tier is written for openai-completions proxy routes, not for the anthropic-messages path the MiniMax plugin prefers, so treat the priority tier as untested here rather than as unreachable.

Persistent work is where OpenClaw diverges from a coding CLI, and it is the line most budgets miss. A job that wakes every 15 minutes runs 96 times a day, about 2,880 times a month. If each run re-reads a 40,000-token context, that is 115.2M input tokens a month: $34.56 at MiniMax-M2.7's $0.30 per million uncached, or $6.91 if every one of those reads hits prompt cache at $0.06. No such job was run here, and whether a cache survives a 15-minute gap was not tested — the point is the order of magnitude between the two columns, which is what decides whether a scheduled assistant is a rounding error or the whole bill.

Non-text capability the plugin can callMiniMax pay-as-you-go rateWorth knowing
web_search$0.01 / requestNot confirmed to be the rate for OpenClaw's /v1/coding_plan/search call
image-01 (OpenClaw's image_generate)$0.0035 / imageAlways billed through the dedicated image endpoint
speech-2.8-hd / speech-2.8-turbo$100 / $60 per 1M charactersOpenClaw's default is the more expensive of the two
Transcription$0.38 / hourPriced per audio hour, not per token
Voice design / rapid voice cloning$3 / $1.5 per voiceNamed in MiniMax's Token Plan exclusion list
Video, MiniMax H3$0.08 / second at 768P, $0.13 / second at 2KH3 is excluded from Token Plan coverage; OpenClaw's default video model is MiniMax-Hailuo-2.3, which that page prices per clip instead — $0.28 for a 768P 6s video, $0.56 for 768P 10s

Kunavo serves no text-to-speech, speech-to-text or embedding model, so none of those MiniMax capabilities has a Kunavo equivalent to compare against.

Kunavo's catalog also carries no MiniMax text model, and its MiniMax video entries are reserved rather than enabled — the Hailuo API guide explains why. This page is therefore not a route to MiniMax-M3 or MiniMax-M2.7 through Kunavo.

First task, and the errors worth recognising

Run openclaw models list --provider minimax (or --provider minimax-portal) before anything paid: it proves the catalog loaded, not that a task works. Then give it one bounded job and read the charge your MiniMax account recorded for it.

SymptomMost likely causeWhere that comes from
401 immediately after OAuth loginThe region did not auto-match — global and China are separate services with separate keysMiniMax's own OpenClaw guide
"Unknown model"Usually no MiniMax provider entry and no MiniMax auth profile or env key at all; failing that, a mis-cased ID — the text ones are MiniMax-M3, MiniMax-M2.7, MiniMax-M2.7-highspeedOpenClaw's troubleshooting section
Search fails while chat worksSearch wants a Token Plan credential; model API keys may be rejectedOpenClaw's MiniMax search tool page
Quota window empty mid-taskApply Credits, upgrade, wait for the window, or swap the key: "you can replace your Subscription Key with your pay-as-you-go API Key"MiniMax's Token Plan introduction
Reported spend looks wrongThe M3 cost block tier above, or an unconfigured custom provider whose cost block defaults to all zerosOpenClaw's provider and custom-provider pages

For the quota reading itself, OpenClaw polls https://api.minimax.io/v1/token_plan/remains and inverts MiniMax's usage_percent field, because MiniMax reports remaining quota rather than consumed quota. Outside OpenClaw, MiniMax documents its own CLI: npm install -g mmx-cli, then mmx quota. One version caveat worth carrying: MiniMax's vendor-side guide targets OpenClaw v2026.7.1-2, while the release GitHub flags as Latest is v2026.9.5, published September 19, 2026 (gh release list -R openclaw/openclaw, September 21, 2026). The repo cuts tags on parallel version lines — v2026.7.35 carries a later tag timestamp than v2026.9.5 — so "the newest tag" is not the same question as "the latest release". Where the two documents differ, OpenClaw's docs are the fresher source for config shape and MiniMax's page is the authority on which credential is required.

Direct, subscription, or a second provider

RouteWins whenWhat you give up
Token Plan over OAuth (minimax-portal)You want one flat monthly number and your traffic is interactive and bursty enough to live inside 5-hour and weekly windowsPredictability the moment a window empties mid-task; MiniMax's own remedy is to swap in a pay-as-you-go key. Web search is not on this provider's capability list
Pay-as-you-go key (minimax)Unattended or scheduled jobs, and anyone who wants a published per-token rate to reconcile againstCost predictability. MiniMax's rate-limit page puts M3 at 200 RPM and 10M TPM and M2.7 at 500 RPM and 20M TPM in its LLM table, and says limits depend on the model and interface without saying whether a subscription key gets the same ones
MiniMax models through a gatewayRarely on its own meritsMiniMax already exposes the same anthropic-messages protocol a gateway would, so a gateway adds no protocol compatibility on the MiniMax models themselves
A second provider entry alongside MiniMaxYou want a Claude-class or GPT-class primary with MiniMax in the fallback list — the shape of OpenClaw's own documented fallback exampleA second key and a second balance to watch

OpenClaw's custom-provider documentation sets the boundaries for that last row, and each one carries its own scope. Only openai-completions and anthropic-messages are documented as api types. A model's cost block defaults to { input: 0, output: 0, cacheRead: 0, cacheWrite: 0 } when omitted, so an unconfigured custom provider reports $0 spend — that rule is unqualified. The two compatibility rules are not: on openai-completions against a non-native host, OpenClaw forces supportsDeveloperRole: false and proxy-style routes drop service_tier; on anthropic-messages against anything other than a canonical Anthropic endpoint, it suppresses implicit Anthropic beta headers. Neither set applies to both protocols. The page's examples all show a baseUrl that already carries its own path suffix, but it does not state whether OpenClaw appends one — so include the suffix and verify rather than assume.

For the same assumed shape as above — 1,000,000 uncached input tokens and 100,000 output tokens — here is what a Kunavo-side primary costs at live catalog rates, so the two sides of a fallback pair are comparable in one unit.

ModelInput / output per 1MEstimate for the assumed task
Claude Haiku 4.5$0.40 / $2.00$0.60
Claude Sonnet 4.6$1.20 / $6.00$1.80
Claude Opus 5$2.00 / $10.00$3.00

Illustrative token arithmetic, not a measured OpenClaw task and not a bill ceiling: it excludes cache operations, tool calls and the machine the assistant runs on. Kunavo's catalog amount is a billing floor rather than a cap — when the upstream reports its charge, the bill is the greater of catalog cost and upstream cost times the applicable markup. The minimum top-up is $10 in prepaid credit, a funding minimum rather than a task fee or a subscription; see billing details. The OpenClaw-side configuration for a Kunavo provider entry is written up at the OpenClaw provider comparison; that is a documented configuration reference, not a runtime test, and whether OpenClaw appends anything to the base URL is not stated in its custom-provider docs, so confirm it in your own install before you trust it. Create a Kunavo account when you want that second entry funded, and OpenClaw pricing covers the hosting and tool layers this page leaves out.

FAQ

How do I use MiniMax with OpenClaw?

MiniMax ships as a bundled first-party plugin in OpenClaw, so it is not a custom-endpoint setup. OpenClaw's provider documentation gives one command with four auth choices: openclaw onboard --auth-choice minimax-global-api, minimax-global-oauth, minimax-cn-api or minimax-cn-oauth. The API-key choices write a provider block with baseUrl https://api.minimax.io/anthropic and api "anthropic-messages"; the China choices use api.minimaxi.com. Verify with openclaw models list --provider minimax, or --provider minimax-portal for the OAuth route. Read from OpenClaw's documentation on September 21, 2026; no install or onboarding run was performed for this page.

Do I need a MiniMax Coding Plan or a Token Plan for OpenClaw?

Both names are live, and they point at one product. MiniMax's Token Plan overview says the Token Plan "extends upon our former Coding Plan", so Token Plan is the current name — but OpenClaw's environment variable is still MINIMAX_CODE_PLAN_KEY, its MiniMax web-search tool calls /v1/coding_plan/search, and the referral link in OpenClaw's docs points at /subscribe/coding-plan. A subscription key is what the OAuth provider (minimax-portal) uses, and it is the credential OpenClaw's web-search tool reaches for first; MiniMax's own OpenClaw guide also has you set the sk-cp Token Plan key as MINIMAX_API_KEY, so it is not exclusive to the OAuth route. The pay-as-you-go chat models work from an ordinary API key. MiniMax's Token Plan overview states the Subscription Key is not interchangeable with pay-as-you-go API Keys, and its OpenClaw guide says a Token Plan API Key starts with sk-cp. Checked September 21, 2026.

Why does OpenClaw report about double what MiniMax charges?

Because of a pricing tier, not a bug. OpenClaw's documented example cost block for MiniMax-M3 reads input 0.6, output 2.4, cacheRead 0.12 — which are MiniMax's rates above 512k input tokens. MiniMax's pay-as-you-go list prices M3 at or below 512k input tokens at $0.30 input, $1.20 output and $0.06 prompt-cache read per million. Copy the example unchanged and every ordinary request gets reported at roughly twice its rate. OpenClaw says so itself: update pricing values in models.json if you need exact cost tracking. Both pages read September 21, 2026.

Does OpenClaw's MiniMax web search work with a pay-as-you-go key?

Not reliably, on two separate counts. OpenClaw's MiniMax web-search tool calls the subscription search endpoint /v1/coding_plan/search, prefers MINIMAX_CODE_PLAN_KEY, and warns that ordinary MiniMax model API keys may not be accepted. And OpenClaw's own capability table lists web search under the minimax provider id but not under minimax-portal, the OAuth one — though the search-tool page itself accepts MINIMAX_OAUTH_TOKEN as a credential and says the tool registers under the minimax provider id even when you authenticated through OAuth. Neither page states outright whether the OAuth route can search. MiniMax's pay-as-you-go list prices web_search at $0.01 per request, but no official sentence connects that rate to the coding_plan search endpoint. Checked September 21, 2026.

Which MiniMax model IDs does OpenClaw accept?

The case-sensitive IDs in OpenClaw's bundled MiniMax catalog are MiniMax-M3 (the default hosted reasoning model), MiniMax-M2.7, MiniMax-M2.7-highspeed, MiniMax-VL-01 for vision, image-01, music-2.6 and MiniMax-Hailuo-2.3. Model refs follow the auth path: minimax/<model> for API-key setups and minimax-portal/<model> for OAuth setups. Third-party posts that write "Minimax 2.7", "MiniMax 2.1" or "M2.5" do not match any of these. OpenClaw's troubleshooting section says an "Unknown model" error usually means the MiniMax provider is not configured at all, and separately notes that model IDs are case-sensitive and differ between the two auth paths. Read from OpenClaw's documentation on September 21, 2026.

Can I run Claude or GPT models alongside MiniMax in OpenClaw?

Yes, and that is the case where a second provider entry earns its place. MiniMax already exposes an Anthropic-compatible surface on the same anthropic-messages protocol a gateway would use, so routing the MiniMax models themselves through a gateway adds no protocol compatibility you do not already have. A second entry matters when you want a Claude-class or GPT-class primary with MiniMax in the fallback list, which is the shape of OpenClaw's own documented fallback example. Kunavo sells no MiniMax text model, so it is that second entry rather than a route to MiniMax-M3 or MiniMax-M2.7.

Every source linked above was fetched on September 21, 2026: MiniMax's pay-as-you-go price list, Token Plan pricing page, Token Plan overview, rate-limit page and its own OpenClaw setup guide; OpenClaw's MiniMax provider, MiniMax search-tool and custom-provider documentation; and the openclaw/openclaw release list, read with gh release list. The two January 2026 rename dates come from the CNBC account linked above and were cross-checked against contemporaneous reporting of the same two renames. Nothing on this page was runtime tested: no OpenClaw install, no onboarding run, no MiniMax key issued and no request sent. Kunavo token rates come from the live catalog, and every dollar figure here is arithmetic on published rates.